En  |   Sp  |   Fr
Home > Schools Programs > Honey Bees

Honey Bee Grant Program

In partnership with The Bee Cause Project.

The Honey Bee Grant program allows for a K-12 school or non-profit organization to receive support for an educational honey bee hive. 
 

We offer four grant options:
 

1. Monetary grant of $1,500 to support the success of a honey bee hive educational program.
2. Observation hive: equipment grant of a custom made indoor observation hive from The Bee Cause Project 
3. Traditional Langstroth Hive: equipment grant an outdoor hive with Starter Kit
4. Top Bar hive: equipment grant of an outdoor top bar hive with Starter Kit

 

All equipment grants include a small monetary grant of $300 to cover the first year of expenses. Grant recipients also receive remote consultation and assistance with Beekeeper partnership from The Bee Cause Project.

 

For more information on each grant option, please read the Program Overview and Support Guide on The Bee Cause Project’s Resources page.

 

Honey Bee Grant is NOW OPEN.

 

Apply here

 

  • Application Open: September 1st, 2017
  • Letter of Intent (LOI) Closed: October 31, 2017 at 5pm CST
  • Full Application Closed: November 15, 2017 at 5pm CST
  • Notification of all Applicants: December 8, 2017
  • Delivery of Hive and Grant Packages: no later than end of January 2018

 

Preview the application with a copy of the eligibility and application questions. Please note that the application must be submitted online during the above application window. 

Want to make sure you're in the loop?  Sign up for our newsletter or follow us on Facebook or Twitter!

 

Questions?

 

Attend our webinars for more information about the application process and best practices on getting your honey bees approved. Register here for either session.

 

  • September 19 at 5pm EST/4pm CST/2pm PST [ VIEW RECORDING HERE ]
  • October 13 at 12pm EST/11am CST/9am PST

 

For any general questions regarding the Honey bee hive grant process or if you need support in the bee approval process email The Bee Cause Project at info@thebeecause.org. 

 

For any technical questions or issues regarding your online application, please email grants@wholekidsfoundation.org

Curriculum and Resources

Use these resources to design your honey bee education or generate ideas!

  • Find even more honey bee education resources in our Resources section.

Get Involved

Find even more honey bee education resources!

Read More

Honey Bee Resources

Guidance on starting and maintaining a honey bee hive. 

We're abuzz with great tips, tricks and tools to support our pollinators.

Read More

Get Kids Buzzing About Pollinators

Our pollinators are decreasing at alarming rates but you can help!

A handbook for teachers and new hive owners.

Read More

Bee Wise Curriculum

Getting to know the Observation Hive.